FINISHED: VW Bugs

So after a weekend finally stitching in the last couple of cars, which actually turned into four extra cars, the VW Bug design I was working on at the weekend is finally completed and up hanging on my embroidery hoop wall. Like I mentioned previously, the thought behind stitching this piece was from playing the punch buggy game with the OH on all our drives be it to the post office or a road trip. More often and not, I loose.

The design is adapted from the Jeanette Crews Designs 40 Classic Cars – One Nighters which featured a great little 1960s VW Bug. I stitched the design in one block colours, mainly for them to stand out and because, well the cars aren’t that big to get too fancy with shading. In fact all the colours used reflect the bugs we see around here a lot on the roads around us – although personally, I’m not too sure about driving a brown copper car! Some quick backstitching and I love how it all comes together, all framed in a 6″ wooden embroidery hoop.

All done!

4 thoughts on “FINISHED: VW Bugs

Leave a comment